Aside

Classroom Menace(s)

Education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance. – Will Durant

I’m back!!!  I know these posts were missed severely… by, like, one person – you know who you are =].  After the end of the world, the holidays killed my motivation.  But, working past that, I’m removing my blog from the “intermission phase.”

Those of you who don’t know, it’s time for all the wonderful college students – who aren’t obnoxious to the rest of the world at all (sarcasm here, guys) – to be back in college.  Yay us!  I am currently finished with my first week and proud to inform those of you wondering that I did indeed survive, and, surprisingly, I enjoy my classes immensely now that I’ve changed my major to Criminal Justice.  Personally, I’m shocked.  15 years of solid dislike of school will do that to a person.  I don’t even mind getting up at 07:00 every morning to go to my 08:00 class, which I’m sure will give my mom a heart attack since she’s had many lovely experiences trying to get me up that early in the past.  HOWEVER, since I changed my major I have to take a few beginning classes in which the student populace is 95% Freshmen.  It’s like working with a bunch of 2-year-olds, I swear. Here is an actual quote from a student today, “Police need to respond faster.”  Oh, yeah?  They can only respond as fast as they can drive, dumbass.  What do you want them to do, teleport?

I’m taking a 101 intro class and my professor is of Asian decent.  He has a very thick accent and his words are sometimes mispronounced, which doesn’t bother me because of all the business classes I’ve taken with professors of Asian and Arab decent previously.  I’ve come to acquire a good understanding of the mispronunciations that are common.  I understand that learning English is probably frustrating; I could barely get through grammar with Spanish because it’s different than English grammar.  I can only imagine what it would be like to learn Mandarin, for instance.  By far, the hardest person to understand was my Financial Accounting professor.  It was really only difficult to understand her because of the fact that I was struggling to grasp the content and her pronunciation of technical terms at the same time.  When I passed the class with a B, I almost fainted from relief.

With that being said, I notice more, now than before, that people (especially Freshmen) always make fun of professors who mispronounce words, and they do it very rudely and loudly in the middle of class.  It really irks me because American citizens expect everyone in the entire world to speak English.  I understand that it’s a common language across the globe, but really?  Most countries try to adapt and teach English as a secondary language.  We don’t even have a set language, which is why I don’t understand the tension over the fact that many people who live here do not speak English; technically, everyone in the U.S. can speak whatever language they choose, which would make things very difficult, but that’s how it is.  People don’t seem to understand that, and instead they choose to disrespect others.  I couldn’t even hear my professor over the chorus of “whats” and “huhs” and the people mimicking him.  One girl that sits next to me is a complete bitch, remind me to move my seat on Monday because I might explode next time I hear her complain about him.  Sorry we can’t dumb down the syllabus for you, sweetheart.  Better go back to beauty school.

Leave a comment